Universiteit Antwerpen (Antwerp)

Faculty of Political and Social Sciences, Faculty of Arts

The University of Antwerp (UA) is characterised by its high standards in education, internationally competitive research and entrepreneurial approach. It was founded in 2003 after the merger of three university institutions previously known as RUCA, UFSIA and UIA. Their roots go back to 1852. The University of Antwerp has about 13.000 students, which makes it the third largest university in Flanders. Over 1.200 international students (exchange students not included) are registered at the UA. The University of Antwerp formes the backbone of the Antwerp University Association (AUHA) a strategic collaboration with four university colleges in the city of Antwerp.
The University of Antwerp has 7 faculties in Applied Economics , Arts and Philosophy , Law, Medicine , Pharmaceutical, Biomedical and Veterinary Sciences , Political and Social Sciences and Sciences. The Institute of Development Policy and Management (IOB), the University of Antwerp Management School (UAMS) and the Institute of Transport and Maritime Management Antwerp (ITMMA) have an autonomous, faculty-like status. Doctoral programmes are available in most faculties.
The University has 4 campuses situated in the historic city centre and in the green belt to the south of the city.

The Faculty of Political and Social Sciences, lead by Prof. Dr. Ria Janvier, Dean, comprises 3 Departments:
Department of Political Science
Department of Communication Sciences
Department of Sociology

On the Bachelor level, 4 degrees are offered:
Communication Studies
Political Science
Socio-economic Sciences

On the Master level, 9 degrees are offered:
Communication Studies - Mediaculture
Communication Studies - Strategic Communication
Film Studies and Visual Culture
Political Communication
Comparative and European Politics
Environmental Science
Social Work
Socio-economic Sciences

In Belgium, a typical Bachelor programme consists of three years of education, and a Master programme of one or two years. At the Faculty of Political and Social Sciences, Master programmes are one year.

However, we also offer a Master after Master or Advanced Master:
International Relations and Diplomacy

Education & International Cooperation
The Faculty of Political and Social Sciences is a research based Faculty that attaches a great deal of importance to internationalization.
In the field of education, this is most visible through numerous exchange possibilities both for incoming and outgoing students and academic staff. The Faculty stimulates exchange as a part of our own students' curriculum, both inside and outside the European Union. Vice-versa, the Faculty adheres to the belief that incoming foreign students bring added value to our campus - the concept of Internationalization @ Home brings the international experience to our students and faculty members who stay in Antwerp.
The majority of courses are taught in Dutch, but especially for our foreign (exchange) students several courses are offered in English. Students can choose freely out of the English taught courses within the 3 Departments. If they choose to follow Dutch taught courses, this is also possible: students receive an alternative assignment under individual supervision. Because of the fact that even in Dutch taught courses a lot of international guest lecturers are invited who obviously teach in English, foreign students will be able to follow these courses without too many difficulties.
The Faculty puts emphasis on personal guidance and assistance for incoming students. On the Faculty level, one Academic and one Administrative Coordinator function as contact persons for all matters related to internationalization. Moreover, each Department has assigned an academic staff member who functions as the first point of contact within their department. This way, our international students are integrated very smoothly and quickly within the overall functioning of the Faculty.

Recognition of academic achievements
One of the cornerstones of the international educational experience is the recognition of credits earned at the hosting institution during an exchange period abroad.
The University of Antwerp, being since long an internationally very active university, has a great deal of experience in this. The University applies the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) in all its degre programmes, and has a vast experience in correlating this European standerd of credit transfer to nen-EU exchanges as well. All study programmes are measured in terms of ECTS credits. A full-time one-year study programme amounts to 60 credits (30 per semester), which comprises a student workload of about 1500 to 1800 hours. One credit stands for 25 to 30 hours of work, including contact hours, preparatry work, study and assessment. The University of Antwerp publishes annually its course catalogue online (in Dutch and English), provides international students with an information package and ECTS documents, guaranteeing total transparency for our international students.

Universiteit Antwerpen (Antwerp)
Faculty of Political and Social Sciences, Faculty of Arts
Gratiekapelstraat 10

Phone: +32 3 265 4111
Email: international@ua.ac.be
Web: www.ua.ac.be/main.aspx?c=.ENGLISH&n=25471